My blossoming travel stress

20170414_10090520170414_100924_HDR

20170414_101550

Happy Easter, everyone! I hope your day is filled with a warren of chocolate bunnies. (Yes, I looked up the collective noun for rabbits. Sometimes they’re cute but most times I just feel bad that the human race labeled certain animals with terrible names. A murder of crows? A plague of rats? What have they ever done to you?)

Anyways, I met up with my friend yesterday to start planning our trip across Canada. On my way to the cafe, I saw tons of cherry blossom trees! I think I can officially announce that winter is over. My sakura picnic dream has been realized. Hopefully I’ll be able to see real cherry blossoms in Japan in a few years time for the ultimate hanami.

But unfortunately, when one problem is over, another one arises.

Travelling is so stressful! Or rather, planning it. This is the first time I’ll be traveling basically on my own with my own money – so that means I need to budget. But everything keeps adding up and I always forget how expensive it can be, even when looking for cheap, dilapidated hostels that I could possibly be murdered in. Guess this means I have to sacrifice my 3 cups of coffee routine… Anybody have any good tips on traveling on a budget?

20170414_122306

But money aside, I’m really getting excited for this trip now, even though it’s still a few months away. We have to book all our trains this week though, so hopefully it’s not a complete bloodbath like when we got the tickets?

At the cafe, I ordered a lavender white mocha which tasted less like a bitter plant and more like sweet sugary bliss. Sipping on that delicious concoction and munching on my chocolate cookie, we managed to finalize our schedule. So a little teaser of what’s on the way for my blog: Anne of Green Gables, a haunted jail, Niagara Falls, and possibly some polar bears.

Until then, I’m going to have to work and save up!

 

signature 4

Leave a Reply

