Good People on the Internet

There are still good people in this world.

Okay, you might think, “Well, duh,” but honestly, I’ve been reading so many negative comments on social media lately that it’s hard to see any good. (Not the comments on my blog though. You guys are awesome.)

Anyways, last night I was just scrolling through Facebook per usual and stumbled across a post by Humans of New York. It showcased a tearful woman in Columbia who had to leave her daughter in Venezuela as she couldn’t even find food for her. As difficult as it was, she had to leave to give her daughter a chance, but even after finding a job, she was still just barely scraping by.

There was a link to a “small” fundraiser at the end of the post, so I clicked it.

Apparently it reached its goal of $5000 in less than 3 minutes.

It reached $100,000 in just a few hours.

good people on the internet

It’s easy to lose faith in humanity these days, especially on social media. A video with a puppy and a baby playing together will still have mean comments by awful people and holy crap it just brings me down.

I don’t really know what this post is supposed to be, but sometimes the world just makes me really, really, sad.

In real life, if you don’t like someone, you can usually just avoid them. But on the internet, you can’t escape the negativity. It’s in the comment section of every post and every tweet and every photo. It’s hard to believe that I live in the same world as these people.

But this was a reminder that despite the bad, there are always good people, too. Kindness and empathy still exist.

Sometimes I really need that reminder to not lose my sanity.

 

signature 4

 

4 thoughts on “Good People on the Internet

  1. I don’t know what it is about the comment section on most things of the internet. But they get so messy and negative (YouTube, Twitter, most news sites), I tend to just ignore them altogether. It’s nice when a post like the one you mentioned comes around. Reminds us that not everyone on the internet is a jerk.
    I agree with you that everyone is cool on this site though. It may be why I prefer to spend so much time on here than anywhere else on the internet 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

