The 5 Stages of Getting Over a TV Show

Do you ever get withdrawal symptoms after finishing your favourite show? Because I just watched one of the best dramas ever (Weightlifting Fairy) and, man, those side effects are hitting me. The pang of seeing the final credits, the anguish of knowing you’ll never see those characters again, the obsessive, all-consuming thoughts that revolve solely on the show and nothing else…ugh, I wish I could get some weirdly specific amnesia that only targets my memories for my favourite books and shows so I could experience them brand-new all over again!getting over tv shows

Not gonna lie, I got a little teary-eyed watching the finale…

Now that I finished, I’m starting this withdrawal routine that I get sucked into every single time. It’s a cycle that usually has these five stages:

1) Getting Wallpapers

The best way to kickstart the after-show obsession. I like going on trusty Google Images and finding the cutest pictures that remind me of the best moments in the show, then changing all my phone and laptop backgrounds. If I’m obsessed with a book, I usually try to find fanart.

2) Listening to the soundtrack

This stage sort of depends on how good the soundtrack is. For the drama that I just finished watching, the music is really good and relaxing! There’s also not too many songs, so I can listen to the playlist over and over and over and over and over and…

3) Stalking the actors

Don’t call the police yet! I’m not an actual stalker, don’t worry…at least, in real life anyways. But social media is complete game, especially Instagram. Liking every picture, scrolling all the way down, even stalking their friends…okay, okay, don’t give me those judgy eyes.

4) Rewatching the show

My favourite part! Reliving all those great moments, even though the surprise is gone. I actually really like to rewatch not only TV shows but movies and books as well, because ones that are really well-done have little clues and details here and there that you didn’t pick up on the first time around. Movies like The Sixth Sense and books like Harry Potter are really good examples.

5) Moving on to a new show

This is the saddest stage. The moment you have to say your goodbyes and move forward. You might find a better show or you might have to sift through garbage for awhile. Either way, it’s the only way to move on. (Wow, it’s like I’m describing a breakup. I need a life.)

Right now, I’m somewhere between Stage 2 and 3. I feel like these stages don’t only apply to TV shows, but to really great books, too.

I don’t know, is this crazy? Reading this over, it sounds crazy. Definitely crazy. Am I just a really obsessive person who can’t get over things easily? What am I going to do if I go through a really bad breakup???

Maybe these are the early signs of someone who will one day have a restraining order. I bet someone will read this post one day and be like, “We should’ve known.

This is getting a little dark. Anyways, that’s it for today. I’m going to go listen to the soundtrack for the thousandth time. Anybody else go through similar stages too?

signature 5

8 thoughts on “The 5 Stages of Getting Over a TV Show

  1. Stalking the actors I do while I’m getting into the show. If I really like it, while I watch, I need to know all the little behind the scenes tidbits! Rewatching is also very fun, cause you get to pick up little hints or foreshadowing that you didn’t before 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

