The “What Do I Think About Art” Tag

A little overdue, but here it is!

So My Mind Speaks Aloud created a “What do I think about Art” tag that inspires bloggers to interpret the piece of art given to them, then share a new piece to others. I think it’s a really cool idea to encourage these kinds of thoughtful posts in the blogosphere, so thanks for the nomination!

If you haven’t already, check out her blog here. I featured her in my Friends For Days tag, so you can definitely call me a fan!

Rules:

  • Copy the piece of art given to you by your nominator into the post, as well as these rules
  • Analyse the piece of art given to you and what it means to you (you can be as abstract as you like)
  • Nominate 5 people to analyse another piece of art of your choice

Art:

artt

Okay, my first thoughts? I’m wondering what I’m even looking at. The man obviously looks like a painting but what about the woman? Is this a photograph? Photoshop? How was this created?? Either way, the style of this is really neat.

So on to my interpretation: I’m going for a pretty pessimistic view. The basic story portrayed here is a man being painted by someone else. But what colour is he forced to become? Blue, blue, and shades of blue – which, symbolically, I think we are supposed to interpret as sadness and depression, you know, Picasso-style. The source of his blues is none other than the painter who literally forces it on him. He has no choice but to sit still, immobile, helpless, and unable to take action. The painter is layering on the misery yet he can’t say anything to stop it.

Maybe the only part that gives a bit of hope here is the slight look of determination in his eyes. He looks like he has had enough of the abuse and is ready to stand up and fight. Maybe there is some optimism in this piece after all.

Nominations:

Okay, phew, enough of that sad stuff. Here are my nominees!

(By the way, no pressure, although IĀ am curious to read your interpretations and thoughts.)

Your piece of art to analyze:

(I’ll give you a hint: it’s by the graffiti artist, Banksy.)

Until next time!

signature 5

13 thoughts on “The “What Do I Think About Art” Tag

  1. I love your interpretation of this art! and… OHHH MY GOOOOSH thank you so much! I’ve never been tagged for anything before so this is gonna be really cool! I have SO many opinions about Banksy that I am dying to unleash on the world, lol, so thank you! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re awesome! Thank you for tagging me on this. I really loved the analysis you did but if there is one talent I lack, it is the appreciation of art. Or the interpretation. Like literally, I suck. For the life of me, I can’t see any deeper than just what is there unless someone points it out to me. I’ll have to give this one a miss but I really do appreciate your nomination, cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

